Summits on the Air Expeditions in Korea

20100903 on JB-140 천호산



It’s HF testing season! I finally tuned my Buddistick this week, and decided to try it out in the wild, on Cheonhosan.

While conditions were noisy, and I could hear some strong stations, nobody could hear me. So, I retuned and switched to 20m and almost immediately made a contact in China.

I didn’t quite like the high SWR readout on 20m with my quick tuning, so moved to 2m and got four local contacts (just using a vertical, today).

The mountain was interesting, with the remnants of a stone fortress up top. Cozy trails, and didn’t see a single person. Though, could hear the continuous fire of machine guns from the training facility in Nonsan (when you’re high up, you hear everything).

2 responses

  1. Pingback: 20100904 on CN-005 진악산 « HL4/W2VLA 산정상 운용 SOTA

  2. Pingback: Afternoon outing to Cheonhosan « HL4/W2VLA 山정상 교신 SOTA

Leave a Reply

